Silence

you cannot silence me

i have a voice

i have a right to be heard

though you may not wish to hear me

let me speak my mind

let me voice my truths

i know it frightens you beyond belief

that i would dare

do i not know better

was i not taught correctly

no

apparently not

not in your eyes

i have a daughter

though she is not yet one

her personality shines

she will not be silenced either

i await the day when she too speaks her mind

and you will hear her

though you may not wish to

you will hear her

and you will cower

because we are strong

you will not silence us

Leave a Reply

