The Truth

Nobody wants to hear the truth unless its pleasant.

When people ask “how are you?” It’s just to keep the conversation going.
Rarely do they genuinely care.
They want to hear “yeah I’m fine thanks, how are you?”

They don’t want to hear about your bad night.

About the abuse.

About the tears you’ve cried.

They want simple and safe.

Because the truth isn’t always safe.

Most often, the truth is painful, to yourself or others.

Telling your truth means that they have to face their truth also.
And they don’t want that.
They don’t want to face their truth.
Because it hurts.

Better to deny
And repress
And suffer inside
Than tell people your truth.

Oh why are you crying? Are you sad?
No I’m fine
Is what they want to hear
Not
Yes, I’m sad and scared because every night my uncle comes into my room.
Awkward. What do people say to that?

Why are you wearing long sleeves, it’s so hot.
Yeah I don’t feel well
Is what they want to hear
Not
It’s because I’m so depressed I cut my wrists everyday and I don’t want you to see them.

The truth is ugly
And ugly is unacceptable.
People only want to see the beauty
The smiles

Not the tears
The rage
The pain

So what?
We’re all living a lie?
All actors on this wonderful soap opera called life?

What the hell?
What’s the point?
If you’re my friend, then you know my story.
You know of my pain and i know yours
So why should I pretend that everything is so wonderful all the fucking time when reality isn’t so?
And it’s ok that it isn’t so.

But apparently it’s inappropriate
Your negative feelings
Mine
They are inappropriate.

So fuck Facebook and the show off competition of whose life is better and whose children are the cutest.

Fuck that.

I want to live in reality
Where the beauty and the ugliness are one and acceptable.

Where it’s ok to be me and its not not about showing everyone how happy I am all the time.

X

20131011-234400.jpg

One thought on “The Truth

  1. Tak says:

    Love you Shista x x x x

Leave a Reply

